A Beginner’s Guide to Going Gluten Free [Resources + Recipes]

Nov 8, 2023 | Therapeutic Diets

Introduction

Welcome to “A Beginner’s Guide to Going Gluten-Free.” For many, being gluten-free is more than just a passing trend; it’s a necessity due to health reasons. If you’re new to the world of gluten-free living, don’t fret. This isn’t about limitations. It’s about discovering a new and vibrant way to nourish your body.

In these pages, we’ll unravel the essentials, debunk misconceptions, and empower you to kickstart your gluten-free adventure with confidence. Think of it as an exciting opportunity for culinary exploration! If you’re hungry for more knowledge, check out the hyperlinks and additional resources (or schedule a free consult to learn more!). Ultimately, the goal of this guide is to make your gluten-free journey a positive and fulfilling experience!

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein that triggers immune reactions in people with celiac disease (CD), people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS), and many people with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Icon
Description automatically generated with low confidence
Gluten is simply the proteins gliadin and glutenin (plus water)

The gluten protein is actually made of two smaller proteins—gliadin and glutenin. Gliadins are the “balls” and glutenins are the “glue.” When mixed with water, these two proteins create a stretchy substance that holds and binds foods together (e.g., bread). Gluten is the reason you can roll pizza dough so thin you can literally see through it (called a “gluten window”).

Pro Tip: this is why many gluten-free breads are so crumbly!

What grains contain gluten?

Gluten is naturally present in the grains wheat, rye, barley, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). Gluten is also naturally present in the “ancient grains” spelt, farro, and kamut.

What are grains?

Grains are seeds. If you plant a wheat berry in the ground, it will grow into wheat grass. That wheat grass will eventually mature into stalks of wheat. And each wheat stalk will produce many more seeds.

Wheat field
Wheat is a grain (starchy seed) that contains gluten

Grains are starchy seeds. While sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds contain more fat (and protein) than carbs, grains are mostly carbohydrate.

Let’s take a look at the USDA’s MyPlate.

While nuts and seeds are housed in the Protein Foods group, Grains are so special they get their own category!

What foods contain gluten?

While some people eat whole (unprocessed) wheat berries, most of us consume gluten as foods made from wheat flour (a processed food ingredient).

The process (pun intended) is straightforward. 

The farmer takes a handful of wheat berries. And mills (grinds) those starchy seeds into a fine dust called flour. You can then use the flour (whole wheat or all purpose) to bake bread, muffins, cookies, cakes, crackers, etc.

Assortment of breads
Bread is a commonly consumed gluten product.

But it’s not all sweet and starchy.

You can use flour (combined with butter, forming a roux) to make gravy, thicken soups, and bind meatballs.

Where is gluten “hiding” in processed foods?

The food industry uses all parts of wheat, including wheat derivatives. Check out this list of wheat derivatives by Sacchetto. The food industry uses ingredients that you (likely) never use in your home kitchen.

Here are some common ingredients derived from wheat (thus, contain gluten).

  • Malt (from barley) – used in corn flakes and crisp rice cereal
  • Malt vinegar (from barley) – used in salad dressing, marinades, barbecue sauces
  • Modified food starch – found in deli meats, salad dressings
  • Vital wheat gluten – found in meat substitutes
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein – added to broth and stock

One of my biggest surprises when going gluten free was learning most soy sauce contains gluten! Pro Tip: look for tamari, a gluten-free soy sauce.

For a full list of hidden sources of gluten, check out this post by the Gluten Intolerance Group: 38 Foods Where Gluten May Be “Hidden.”

How to tell if a packaged food is gluten free

There are three ways to tell if a package of food is gluten-free.

1. It has a gluten free label

If the packaging claims a food is gluten-free, then it is most likely safe to eat. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) only allows companies to label foods “gluten free” if they contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

2. Wheat is missing from the allergen listing

Some packaging includes list of common allergens (wheat, milk, egg, nuts, soy) present in the product. If the packaging says “contains wheat,” it is not gluten-free. However, please note that a lack of allergen labeling does not mean that the product is gluten-free. Companies are not required to list barley and rye in the allergen section, both of which contain gluten.

Pro Tip: Remember to check the ingredients list for other hidden sources of gluten.

3. The ingredients list has no wheat (or wheat derivatives)

If you’ve never read food labels, you soon will (it’s the only way to check if a packaged food contains gluten). Don’t worry about doing it perfectly the first time. The more you read labels, the better you will get!

To learn how to understand and use the Nutrition Facts Label, check out this FDA website (they’re in charge of label laws).

In the mean time, here’s a quick list of gluten-containing ingredients:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Spelt (ancient wheat)
  • Farro (ancient wheat)
  • Kamut (ancient wheat)
  • Bulgar (cracked wheat)
  • Semolina (coarsely milled durum wheat, used mainly for making pasta)
  • Couscous (a type of pasta)
  • Orzo (a type of pasta)
  • Farina (wheat breakfast porridge; cream of wheat)
  • Graham flour (coarse-ground whole wheat flour)
  • Matzo meal (ground up matzo; unleavened wheat bread)
  • Malt
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Oats (unless specifically labeled gluten-free)

Beware of cross-contamination (and common sources)

Sometimes foods that are naturally gluten-free get contaminated with gluten during processing or preparation.

Packaged foods (made in same facility, on same equipment)

When it comes to packaged foods, there are three levels of contamination.

  1. “May contain wheat” – is the most likely to be contaminated
  2. “Made on the same equipment as wheat” – is likely to be contaminated
  3. “Made in a facility that also processes wheat” – is not ideal, but less risky than the above

Look at it this way, if your household is not 100% gluten-free (i.e., if you live with gluten eaters) then your kitchen is aa “shared facility.”

Text
Description automatically generated
“Made on machinery that also processes wheat.”

Oats (contaminated during processing)

Take oats, for example.

While oats do not contain gluten, they are typically processed on machinery that also processes wheat.

Let’s picture it. 

As the oats are shuttled down a conveyer belt previously used to transport wheat, the oats get coated with tiny bits of gluten.

Pro Tip: look for certified gluten-free oats, like Bob’s Red Mill.

Other common sources of cross-contamination happen at home.

The toaster (contaminated by mixed-use)

If you’ve ever used your toaster for wheat bread, that toaster is now contaminated. Each time you put a slice of gluten-free bread in that toaster, that slice of gluten-free bread gets coated with minuscule (but powerfully immunogenic!) flecks of gluten from toast of the past.

Condiments (contaminated by “double dipping”)

I watch this happening all the time. You dip your knife in the mayonnaise, spread the mayo on one slice of bread, then double-dip to get a second helping of mayo for the second slice, contaminating the whole jar in the process.

Beware of gluten in body care products

Yes, gluten can also be hiding in your shampoo and body lotion. Check the ingredients list for things like “hydrolyzed wheat peptides.”

Text
Description automatically generated
C.O. Bigelow uses hydrolyzed wheat protein to make their Lavender Peppermint Shampoo.

C.O. Bigelow uses hydrolyzed wheat protein to make their Lavender Peppermint Shampoo. If you use this shampoo, you get exposed to gluten through your skin!

How careful do I have to be?

As careful as you can.

Even small amounts of gluten can trigger an immune reaction.

Just like you can’t “kinda sorta” be pregnant, you can’t “kinda sorta” be gluten-free. You either are. Or are not.

Learn more about how important it is to be 100% gluten-free by listening to the Root Cause Medicine Podcast #60: How Gluten Impacts Your Autoimmune Disease with Dr. Tom O’Bryan.

How long do I have to be gluten-free?

It depends.

Some people can “get over” gluten.

Others can never eat it again.

The stricter you are, the more likely your immune system will forget to react (extinguish the immunological memory).

Every time your immune system sees gluten, it increases antibody levels (I always picture Mario “re-upping” and earning an extra life. Cha-ching!).

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

But you don’t have to take my word for it. Check out this episode of the Doctor’s Farmacy where Dr. Mark Hyman discusses Is Gluten-Free A Fad Or Is Gluten A Real Threat To Our Health? with dietitian Maggie Ward.

What can I eat?

Finally, the most important part of this whole post. Here’s what you CAN eat.

All of us, whether we’re gluten free or not, should all eat a variety of whole foods (specifically, 30 plants per week) in as close to their original form as possible. This means vegetables, fruits, nuts & seeds, beans & peas, meat, fish, dairy (if you can tolerate it), and gluten free grains.

To reduce toxic burden, choose organic as much as possible.

To reduce inflammation, it’s also important to minimize packaged and processed foods.

Below is a list of healthy, whole foods that should make up the base of your gluten free diet (and a few extras to help flavor and sweeten your meals).

Fruits

Vegetables

  • Dark Green
  • Red and Orange
  • Beans, Peas, and Lentils
  • Starchy
  • Other

Protein foods

  • Beans, peas, and lentils
  • Nuts and seeds 
  • Meats/poultry (pasture-raised)
  • Eggs (free-range)
  • Fish (wild-caught)

Dairy (grass-fed, pasture-raised)

Traditional fats

  • Olive oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Butter and ghee (clarified butter)
  • Rendered fats (like tallow from animals raised on pasture)

Fermented and cultured foods

Natural, minimally processed sweeteners

  • Honey
  • Pure maple syrup
  • Blackstrap molasses.

Gluten-Free Grains 

  • Rice
  • Oats (certified gluten-free)
  • Corn
  • Quinoa 
  • Millet 
  • Sorghum
  • Buckwheat  
  • Amaranth 
  • Teff (used to make Ethiopian bread, injera. Tip: look for 100% teff injera. To reduced cost, most injera is made with a combination of teff and wheat!)

Gluten-Free Flours

  • Any flours made from the gluten-free grains above 
  • Arrowroot
  • Cassava/Yuca flour 
  • Potato starch/flour 
  • Pea flour
  • Tapioca flour
  • Nut flours/meals (almond, coconut, etc.)
  • Tigernut flour

If you have any questions — any questions at all — please reach out to your registered dietitian for guidance.

Resources

Organizations who specialize in Gluten-Free

Gluten-Free Recipes

Podcasts

Journal Articles

Other Articles

Posts by Category

Free Guide to Improve Digestive Health Today!

Coconut and coconut oil

Save 15% on Pharmaceutical Grade Supplements!

Supplement pills

Recent Posts

Goodness Equals Happiness: The Trick To Knowing Where To Start

Goodness Equals Happiness: The Trick To Knowing Where To Start

When it comes to achieving optimal wellness, you need balance in two worlds: the physical world and the emotional/mental/spiritual world. After working with many clients, I've found that it's difficult to achieve balance in the physical side of health when the...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This